Individualized Candles in Few Steps

For everyone who loves cosy winter evenings with a book (or ebook reader) in the hand, the dog (or cat) on the lap and a mug of hot chocolate (or tea/coffee/hot wine) on the side table, the warming light of a candle is not just a nice decoration: It’s an important part of the scenery and an indispensable accessory for snugness.

I don’t know whether it is a phenomenon that only happens to me and my family or whether it depends on the price of a candle. But every time, the candle dies before the wax was completely consumed. And I’m not talking about some wax: last time, my mother complained about one of those huge altar candles which died just after 6 inches. And this is not the first time.

Already one year ago I thought about recycling possibilities. For me, it is always a ptty to throw things away; food, clothes, bags, even wax. I came up with the idea to create my own candles using the left over way from bought candles. It’s not a new thing, but as I was a bit worried about how this will work out, I may can give you some help and advice.

One weekend I decided to spend the morning at my favourite flee market to look for some  suitable bowls. After buying them, I just started…

What you need and what to consider:

  • wicks (supply store)
  • bowls (should be able to heat up, so metal would be perfect)
  • old candle wax (in different colours, as you want)
  • water
  • a big pot
  • stove
  • towel
  • pot holder

It’s very simple and easy and if you have differently coloured wax, it’s even creative and fun. I bought 3 GDR ice cream bowls at the flee market (as I’m living in the east part of Germany, GDR stuff is everywhere). They are made out of some kind of metal which keeps the ice cold, because it adapts the temperature. This is perfect for individualized candles, but I need to heat them up.

Let’s start:

Put some water in the pot and add the bowls. Turn the stove on and slowly heat the water up. Make sure that the water won’t come into the bowl, but put enough water into the pot so the bowls can heat up. Cut the wax into small pieces and depending on the size of the bowl, put only a little bit of the wax into it. When the wax starts to melt, you can add some more wax. Different colours do mix with each other. For example, when you have white and red wax, you can create a rose-coloured candle. Be careful with adding wax as even a small amount of it increases a lot when melted!

When your bowls are filled, just shut off the stove and wait until the wax starts to get solid. If you don’t want to wait so long and you are cautious, you can take the bowls from the pot, using the pot holder and place them on a towel. However, when the wax is solid on the surface, you can add a wick in the middle. Depending on the diameter of your bowl, you may have to add more than 1 wick. For the length, I orient myself on purchasable candles. Don’t move the wick to much, because otherwise the surface will break and the wick will dump. When the bowls are cold, the wax should be completely solid and you can decorate your flat/house or send them as a present.

This time, I filled one bowl with white and a bit of yellow wax, one bowl I filled with white and red wax and the last bowl was filled with blue and red wax leading to this nice purple appearance.

20170107_173918-01.jpeg

Edit: Don’t expect too much from the self-made candles! At some point, the wick will dump into the hot wax and the candle will die. But you can just re-do the previously described steps and create new candles.

Tell me your experience and colour-designs!

Leave a Reply

