Hazelnut Butter

I completely forgot the birthday present for my brother in law while knitting for my nephew and myself the last days. I already had an idea long before his birthday, but time run out and so, I had to do it today. I thought it would take me a long time, but in the end, it wasn’t so much work for me; more for my kitchen devices.

Earlier this year I found a recipe for self made Nutella or cacao hazelnut butter and I think the latter name is a better description of what it is and how it tastes. So, I found this recipe and as I know that my brother in law loves Nutella (next to other unhealthy things πŸ˜‰ ), I decided to try the hazelnut butter by shelovesbiscotti.

The website provides a link to a Youtube video which made it a bit better to understand and I highly recommend to watch it (even though the recipe by shelovesbiscotti is adapted). As the hazelnuts underwent certain steps of texture, it is good to have a picture.

I wanted to fill two jars: a smaller and a bigger one. Of course, the bigger one for my brother in law (did I already mention that he loves Nutella πŸ˜‰ ) and the smaller for myself. Therefore, I can tell you that it is really important to stick to the amount of ingredients. My first try was for my jar and as I had the feeling that the butter could be a bit sweeter, I just added more honey and in the end, the butter became way different in texture as well as taste to the one I created after.

What you need:

  • oven
  • two bowls
  • a food processor
  • 450 g jar

Ingredients (for a 450 g jar) :

  • 245 g hazelnuts
  • 80 g cacao powder
  • 5,5 TBS honey
  • 3,5 TBS oil (hazelnut or vegetable oil)
  • pinch of salt
  • vanilla flavoring (some drops)

I absolutely complied to the description you can find on the website I linked above. I preheated the oven up to 165Β°C, put the hazelnuts on a baking plate and scattered them over it and put them in the center of the oven. I set the alert to 6 minutes and turned the baking plate 180Β° and set the alert again to 6 minutes. As the hazelnuts started to drop their skins, but were still light brown after the total of 12 minutes, I left them in the oven for another 6 minutes. In the end, the hazelnuts were roasted for 18 minutes and had a nice dark brown color as well as a tasty roasting flavor.

dsc09160

Right: before; Left: after

I used the method described in the video to get rid of the skins: I put the hazelnuts into a bowl and set another, smaller bowl, on top and I shook it. It is very efficient!

dsc09165

I picked all of the hazelnuts that lost their skins, and for the others, I started a second round. It is not a huge problem when some hazelnuts still have some skin left. But it will influence the taste, because the skin adds a bitter flavor. I wasted all of the nuts that were too dark or had too much skin left to avoid that. I put the rest into my food processor and started the engine on a low level.

dsc09166

As recommended, I stopped it from time to time to bring the nut powder sticking on the wall back to the ground. After a while, the hazelnuts became oily and then like paste and finally liquid.

cream

It already smelled like really good hazelnut cream like the filling of Kinder Bueno. I love it!

Now, it’s time to add the cacao powder, the oil, salt, vanilla and the honey and mix it again. The butter underwent several transformations: first, it became solid again, but after a while it became more and more creamy.

dsc09172

Depending on how you like your cacao hazelnut butter, you can add more oil or not. I wanted to have a soft cream rather than a liquid one. Therefore, I cautiously added the oil. And then, it’s done!

dsc09180dsc09184

I’m honest, the butter isn’t as sweet as I expected or wanted it. But the taste of hazelnut is really nice! Maybe I should have used sweetened cacao powder instead of the one you use for baking. Anyway, I really like the butter and I’m proud of the texture and the taste. But I like dark chocolate anyway. For someone who even thinks that normal bittersweet chocolate is too bitter, the butter is definitively too strong.

It’s a nice, tasty and easy present for another person or even yourself. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Hazelnut Butter

Leave a Reply

